Harp Music
Latest News

Soprano and Baritone Mountain Dulcimer Duet Class

Workshop at upcoming Ohio Valley Gathering
March 15, 2014
1 pm
Hilton Hotel
Lexington KY 

Read More


Beginning Dulcimer Class (DAD)

Eight weeks of one hour classes at the Music And Arts Center of Cultural Learning in Elizabethtown KY.
5:00-6:00 pm Tuesday 
Ongoing 

Read More




Follow Me Twitter YouTube Facebook
KY Arts Council
RSS Feed

Product and Performance Reviews

Beautiful music on our "Funny Valentine"
Lorinda - thanks very much for providing beautiful music on our "Funny Valentine" night.  You added a touch of class to the evening.  I received a number of favorable comments from folks appreciating the music.  Thanks also for your gift of music to those who are hurting such as at the Brown Cancer Center. Being on the receiving end of your gift at a time when tough issues were being faced helped us get through the day as I am sure it did many others as well.

BLessings
Bob

Originally Published on Wednesday, February 19, 2014 under Product and Performance Reviews

Beautiful Lunch with the Arts Program
Thank you for a beautiful Lunch With the Arts program this past Wednesday! I heard nothing but positive comments afterwards about how beautiful and interesting it was. We usually get around 40 people, so your crowd of 70 was pleasantly large - a testament to you and the power of music to touch people. 

Lorinda,
Thank you for a beautiful Lunch With the Arts program this past Wednesday! I heard nothing but positive comments afterwards about how beautiful and interesting it was. We usually get around 40 people, so your crowd of 70 was pleasantly large - a testament to you and the power of music to touch people. 
I enjoyed catching up with you after all these years, and was moved by your music. I've been playing your CD in the car as I travel between Danville and Lexington, and I love it! Plus, it's the perfect length!
-- 
Joan Stansbury
Lunch With the Arts Coordinator
Originally Published on Saturday, January 18, 2014 under Product and Performance Reviews

Pay Double!

 Bring her back and pay her double; I will pay double!

Dulcimer U, Western Carolina University, Summer 2012

Originally Published on Friday, August 3, 2012 under Product and Performance Reviews

Excellent Instructor

 Lorinda does an excellent job communicating concepts; excellent instructor, well prepared

Dulcimer U, Western Carolina University, Summer 2012

Originally Published on Friday, August 3, 2012 under Product and Performance Reviews

Musical Journey Recommendation

On October twenty-first, 2011, Lorinda Jones and Mark Gatewood performed their "A Musical Journey of Kentucky" program for the 2nd & 3rd Grade students of Woodford County Public Schools. From the beginning of their first song, the students were engaged in the program and began spontaneously clapping in time to the music. Lorinda & Mark brought over 10 different instruments for their program and played each one for the students. Their explanations about the origins of the music and instruments were very interesting and age appropriate. They accompanied their verbal presentation with a wonderful Power Point show, which was not only informative, but also delighted the students with animated characters who "danced" or "played along" with the musical numbers. I also appreciated how Lorinda and Mark got teacher volunteers to assist them during a portion of the program. The 2nd & 3rd Grade teachers shared with me how they valued the performance study guide that Lorinda had sent to us before the performances.

Lorinda and Mark performed 3 shows for us in one day, and their energy during the final performance of the day was no different than during the first. They did an excellent job answering student questions at the end of their performance, and invited teachers to e-mail any questions that could not be answered in the allotted performance time.

Although Lorinda and Mark performed for our 2nd & 3rd Grade students, I feel they would be able to tailor their performance for other grade levels as well.

I would wholeheartedly recommend Lorinda Jones & Mark Gatewood's performance of "Musical Journey of Kentucky" to other schools!


Sue Jacobs

Coordinator - Woodford Educational Endowment Foundation School Fine Arts Performance Program.



Originally Published on Friday, December 9, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Clear As A Bell
It was my pleasure to attend a number of your classes at the Gateway Dulcimer Festival recently.

Your teaching style was clear as a bell. As you proceeded step-by-step, you were able to get *most* of the group playing together in short order. And through it all, you did so with humor and infectious positive energy.
Eric Young, Gateway Dulcimer Festival 

Originally Published on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Residents Bragged
Performance Review from Atria Assisted Living
Old Time Musical Journey 

Hi Lorinda,
 
The residents bragged about the performance today so thank you all very much.  They are already asking when you all are going to return!!

 
Tammy Marie Davis
Engage Life Director
Atria Assisted Living
Originally Published on Monday, June 27, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Musical Journey Review- They Talked about it for Days

Thank you so very much for visiting our school last spring.  The students and staff enjoyed the program and learned a lot.  They talked about it for days afterward.


Mike Gee, Principal Joe Harrison Carter Elem.

Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

The Highlight of Our Year

I can't begin to tell you how enjoyable and meaningful your program of music was to the Elizabethtown Woman's Club... I think it has been the highlight of our year.


Kitty DuPlessis, Program Chair

Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Kentucky Music Hall of Fame and Museum, Resident Musician

I must thank you, Bruce, and Kelsie for putting on by far one of the most class act performances we've ever had. It was the most culturally fascinating performance we've had since I've been here.


Chris Mullins, 

Kentucky Music Hall of Fame & Museum, Resident Musician

Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Lebanon Elementary Core Content School Performance
Lorinda Jones performed traditional folk instruments at Lebanon Elementary on March 28. As I observed the presentation to the fourth and fifth grade students, her musicianship impressed me. However, what really amazed me is how she incorporates core content into her performance. This presentation was very educational and was clearly focused on student learning. I truly appreciate Ms. Jones for coming to Lebanon Elementary and can only hope she enjoyed us as much as we enjoyed her.

Kandice Spalding
Music Specialist
Marion County Schools
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

School Performance Review- Lincoln Trail Elementary
Our students enjoyed the review performance that Ms. Jones shared with us. The journey through history and the detailed musical excerpts were exactly what our students needed for the unit review. The original musical instruments were a great asset, the song selection was perfect and the listening examples were age appropriate. The children enjoyed seeing and listening to this performance and are still talking about it. This was a perfect ending for our Appalachian Music unit.

Beth Root, Music and Drama Teacher
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

School Performance Review-Creekside Elementary
Lorinda Jones and Mark Gatewood visited Creekside Elementary on Friday March 21st, 2008.  Lorinda's performance was not only entertaining, but also informative.  She took the kids through a musical journey of culture and history.  She had instruments from Native American, Traditional Appalachian and West African cultures.  Students could see instruments like the dulcimer and the gourd banjo and hear the different sounds they made as Lorinda demonstrated each of them.  Lorinda is also very talented and knows how to play each instrument and performed songs with Mark from different periods of history, including Kentucky.  Mark accompanied her on the guitar and the fiddle. For some of the songs, Lorinda encouraged students to participate by teaching them parts they could sing on their own.  The information given not only allowed students to experience the arts firsthand, but also gave them valuable information pertaining to the Kentucky Core Content Test.
 

Sarah Howlett, 5th Grade Teacher
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Roundstone Elementary Performance Review
When Lorinda Jones visited Roundstone Elementary School, the students were first attracted to the various types of instruments she displayed and identified. Once the students gathered around her she began playing and singing as if casting a spell. Her performance explored the landscape of the Celtic soul and mountain wanderings while capturing the very essence and mists of the long ago. With her knowledge of the music, her voice and skillful interpretation with each instrument, Lorinda's enchantment breached the lines of age from the smallest pre-schooler to the most senior of the adults. Her interaction with people, care for each audience member, interest in the school's music program, and genuine love of the world around her makes Lorinda a truly remarkable and captivating performer and human being.

H. Allen Pensol
Arts Coordinator
Rockcastle County Schools
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Lorinda Jones Visits Roundstone
Today, October 9th, 2008, was a fun day at Roundstone Elementary School. We had a surprise in the cafeteria. Mrs. Lorinda Jones came to teach us about music and instruments.
 
Mrs. Lorinda is a dulcimer player and she played and showed us instruments like the old harp. It looked a lot different from the ones today. Mrs. Lorinda was very informative. She sang lots of old Kentucky folk songs with us and she could play the African banjo, too. She taught us a political song about a cat that would not go away, about how a country long ago could not get rid of a political leader. She is a very talented musician. We were all so amazed that we did not want the time to end.
 
She also gave a free concert at the famous Kentucky Music Hall of Fame Thursday night for all of the students and their families.
 
We would like to thank Mrs. Jones for coming to our school, and also thank our lovely principal, Mrs. Patty Renner for having her. We really enjoyed her performance.
 

By: Lance Isaacs, Megan Cromer & Desiree Mason
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Wedding Review
"Thank you for making our wedding reception so special. Your performance was a beautiful touch!"

E.R.
Elizabethtown
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Music Therapy Review
"Thank you so much for creating beautiful, healing music for Cancer Survivor Sunday. It was truly a gift to have you and your friends sharing your talents."

Kentucky Cancer Program
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

The Perfect Fit Wedding Review
Hi Lorinda and Deborah!

Matt and I just want to Thank You so much for playing at our wedding! Everything sounded so beautiful and all the guests loved it! Your music made our wedding day even more special because it was so elegant and different from other weddings I have been to! Once again, Thank You all so much for playing at our wedding!
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews

Lee County High School
September 24, 2010 Lee County High School students enjoyed "A Musical Journey of Kentucky" assembly sponsored by GEAR UP and the EKU Arts & Humanities Collaborative. Pictured L to R:Lorinda Jones(artist), student- Bobby Estes and (artist )Mark Gatewood. This program is recognized for its ability to showcase Kentucky's roots through song and dance tunes reflecting the influence of immigration in the development of traditional folk songs and instruments. The audience learned about the history of the state instruments of Ky.; the mountain dulcimer, as well as other influential instruments including banjo ,fiddle, autoharp, and guitar. Students were asked to sing along with lyrics appearing on the power point slideshow .Some of L.C.H.S. students were asked to come up on stage to play and dance along with the artist. The students were R.J. Bercume, Alex Gordon , Chase Burton , Dontarius Pittman and Aaron Shelton.

As many students and adults said" This program was wonderful. It was the Best! We all had a good time and they made learning fun today." "It made me Proud to be from Kentucky." After the program the artist attended the Music Club with Mr. Franklin and Mr. Durbin. Our Lee County High School students  and Mr. Durbin really put on a great talent show for Lorinda and Mark. Lorinda and Mark said "Lee County has such great kids. Just the best. They are so talented.'
We agree.
We wish to thank Mr. Evans and the Lee Co. Bd. Members, Mr. Willie Addison (Gear Up Counselor),EKU Arts & Humanities -Sarah Evans,  Mr. David Land, Mrs. Rhonda Estes, Mrs. Jana Durbin, and the students that set up and took down the instruments for helping with this program today. Mr. Kevin Franklin and Mr. Phillip Durbin for allowing us to come into your club time, and the Great students of the Music Club.
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Product and Performance Reviews