Harp Music
Latest News

Soprano and Baritone Mountain Dulcimer Duet Class

Workshop at upcoming Ohio Valley Gathering
March 15, 2014
1 pm
Hilton Hotel
Lexington KY 

Read More


Beginning Dulcimer Class (DAD)

Eight weeks of one hour classes at the Music And Arts Center of Cultural Learning in Elizabethtown KY.
5:00-6:00 pm Tuesday 
Ongoing 

Read More




Follow Me Twitter YouTube Facebook
KY Arts Council
RSS Feed

Dulcimer Reviews

A great teacher!
I took 3 of your classes at the Mt. Dora Festival last week. I cannot begin to tell you great a teacher you are! Thank you for helping me! Hope to take more classes from you in the future! Betty A Jones

Originally Published on Monday, April 9, 2012 under Dulcimer Reviews

Gave us Courage

We saw you perform in Mount Dora in February and you were awesome.  And your class on “arrangements” there gave us the courage to mix  things up a bit yesterday and make our piece a little more interesting!  Everyone said it was the best we had sounded to date J! Take care- Chris Larson

 


Originally Published on Monday, March 19, 2012 under Dulcimer Reviews

Dulcimer CD Review- Very nice--you'll be sorry if you don't pick this one for your collection!
Have fun, Lorinda--gonna do the "watermelon crawl" too?  Hey everybody, Lorinda has got a sweet new CD--I've been enjoying in it my car this week--crisp sound, creative arrangements that invite the listener deep into the tunes--major AND minor tunes!  Very nice--you'll be sorry if you don't pick this one for your collection!

Steve Eulberg, 
www.owlmntnmusic.com
Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Dulcimer Workshop Review- Your Workshop was the best

"Your workshop was the best one that I attended during the French Lick festival.  And what an experience it was to watch you share your love of the dulcimer and music to the group.  It was 'catching', and made me love the music even more."


Theresa Williams, Dulcimer Festival, French Lick, IN

Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Louisville Dulcimer Society
Lorinda,
I just want to say a great BIG THANK YOU for providing LDS with a most memorable and enjoyable afternoon. As far as I can tell the workshops all went well and the the concert was wonderful---I do believe that is the most talent we've had on that "stage" at one time---ever!! Your selection of tunes was great and exposed the audience to variety of music & instruments. How easy you all made it look to play those instruments so well & seemingly so effortlessly. WOW--what talent you all have been blessed with!!! Please relay this message to Bruce & Kelsie as they added much to the success of this event!! I wish you all the best in your future endeavors . I & others hope to get down your way in November.

Lynne
Louisville Dulcimer Society!
Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Harp and Dulcimer Review
"I want to take this occasion to personally thank you for staging such a wonderful concert for the benefit of the restoration of the Historic State Theater. Not only was the evening filled with beautiful music, the Plum Alley was also full of paying patrons! Your time, talent, and generosity will always be remembered."

Historic State Theater Complex, Inc.
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

General Review
"Thank you for blessing our listeners with your beautiful music on the morning show!"

WQXE
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Dulcimer Workshop Review
Great workshop, learned a lot

Wow, what can I say. Just took a workshop under Lorinda at E-town this past weekend. Great workshop, learned a lot. Bought two CD's...they are really great and am so glad to find them. They are very peaceful CDs that I will use to relax.

DGL
Lexington, Kentucky 
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Presentation in Louisville at the NAOSA Conference
Hi, I attended your presentation in Louisville at the NAOSA conference several years ago.  I purchased a book that had your lessons laid out for using dulcimers for special ed.  It was a great book and I've used it every year for a dulcimer unit that I do with my elementary students. Unfortunately I've loaned it to one too many interns and I can't find it.  I'd like to get another.  I think it was called "Dulcimers in the Classroom" or something like that.  It had Train is a comin, Are you sleeping, Bile them Cabbage, etc.  I loved the pre-tablature charts and the real ones.  I'm lost without it!  Please help!

Joan Keever
Music Specialist
Oakdale Elementary School
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews

Jones, Lorinda- Class: Beg. MD - Skills
Excellent teacher!

 

Lorinda is a super teacher and a wonderful musician. She can answer just about any question about dulcimers it seems and always with an encouraging smile. I just love her combination of folksiness and classical training. She's simply delightful.

This was an exemplary class. Lorinda's manner, good humor, and supportive attitude, her devotion to and skill in playing the traditional DAA tuning, her thoughtful preparation or materials as well as her decision to have us begin our playing experience following the oral tradition makes for what seems to me to be an ideal introduction to the instrument.

 

Lorinda is an excellent instructor and a true traditionalist, which is why she only instructed on DAA tuning. I am used to DAD and would have felt more comfortable using DAD; however, it was nice to learn something different. She definitely covered all the basics and then some. It was a great class.
Originally Published on Monday, February 14, 2011 under Dulcimer Reviews