Harp Player
Latest News

Soprano and Baritone Mountain Dulcimer Duet Class

Workshop at upcoming Ohio Valley Gathering
March 15, 2014
1 pm
Hilton Hotel
Lexington KY 

Read More


Beginning Dulcimer Class (DAD)

Eight weeks of one hour classes at the Music And Arts Center of Cultural Learning in Elizabethtown KY.
5:00-6:00 pm Tuesday 
Ongoing 

Read More




Follow Me Twitter YouTube Facebook
KY Arts Council
RSS Feed

CD Reviews

What a lovely thing
CD/DVD review

Hi Lorinda,
It was so good to see you at Mt. Dora.  We all watched your DVD before Mom went back to NY.  It was just beautiful... the music and the videography.  It's not only restful for anyone, but I was thinking, how lovely for people like Mom who love the outdoors, but probably won't be going hiking any time soon.  They can sit and relax and see the woodland scenes, waterfalls, etc in the safety of their homes.  What a lovely thing you have done for them!  Great job. I was really impressed.
I hope you do very well marketing it to everyone!!
Be well, make good music, prosper!
Susan
Originally Published on Friday, March 2, 2012 under CD Reviews

Some highly skilled playing
I have also been enjoying your CD. I really am enjoying your dulcimer playing on it...love some of the harmony things you do against the flute and whistle.   Some highly skilled playing. Glad you put a healthy dose of dulcimer on there...the level of your play deserves it. Gary Gallier

Originally Published on Sunday, November 20, 2011 under CD Reviews

Gratefulness
Brown Cancer Center  Patient Blog

Yesterday I received a lovely card and CD/DVD from my friend and colleague Lorinda Jones 

www.lorindajones.com


Lorinda is an artist in the KY Center’s Arts-in-Healing program and she is a wonderful performer and music therapist.  Her new CD/DVD The Chattering Magpies will soon be released:

www.lorindajones.com/chatteringmapgies.asp


I brought the CD in and it was very soothing and comforting and lovely Celtic music for harp and Irish flute.  Afterwards, one of the doctor/technicians said that he enjoyed that more than all the other (classical) CDs I brought in so far.  I asked him if he would like to keep it for a day and play it for other patients and they said yes.  So Lorinda’s gift continues to give to others, which makes me very happy too.  I will, of course, share this news with Lorinda.

Originally Published on Friday, October 14, 2011 under CD Reviews

Fantastic
Celtic Harper and Celtic Passages

Lorinda, I bought your new cd/dvd and the celtic harper at mem dulcimer festival, and they are both fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally Published on Monday, September 26, 2011 under CD Reviews

Terrific! Celtic Passages
The CD sounds terrific, by the way, and I’m going to add it to our overhead rotation!
Joseph Beth Booksellers
Lexington Kentucky 

Originally Published on Friday, August 26, 2011 under CD Reviews

Love It! Celtic Passages CD/DVD
I love this!!!!!!!!!  

Originally Published on Friday, August 26, 2011 under CD Reviews

Celtic Passages CD/DVD Review
Watched your DVD today, could hardly stay awake long enough to finish it. I think it works! Especially loved the spring flowering trees and the winter scenes.
The Rooks, ILL 

Originally Published on Wednesday, August 17, 2011 under CD Reviews

Acoustic Accord CD Review
Kentuckian, Lorinda Jones is nationally known as a solo performer, a very much in demand and outstanding teacher, a very busy recording artist and as a Board Certified Music Therapist. She specializes in Celtic and American traditional music and plays Celtic (Irish style) harp, mountain dulcimer, and tin whistle, along with a variety of other folk instruments. In Acoustic Accord, she teams up with Bruce Adair who has studied guitar with likes of Pat Kirtleyand Eddie Pennington, both stalwarts of the Kentucky "thumbpicking" school of guitar playing. In Acoustic Accord, Bruce plays guitar, mandolin, ukulele and bouzouki while Kelsie Westfall adds bass, fiddle, and mandolin to the mix. Acoustic Accord, their first recording, features a somewhat eclectic mixture of tunes ranging from ancient harp tunes of Ireland and Scotland to American mountain music, bluegrass, ragtime, and gospel.  The tunes certainly come from a variety of sources, but they all have a peaceful, easy feeling that is the trademark sound of Acoustic Accord.

Lorinda's dulcimer playing is very solid. She appropriately takes a leading role on most of the traditional tunes like Sonny's Mazurka and The Gypsy Rover and gets to play some great harmony lines when Bruce shows off his fingerpicking skills on tunes like I Am a Pilgrim and Pete Seeger's Living in the Country. Other tunes like Blue Moon of Kentucky and Happy Trails aren't songs you hear every day on the dulcimer and are very welcome additions to my list of songs to learn. If you like Celtic harp, Lorinda's version of Beaumont Rag is killer. This is a totally delightful recording that manages to be very relaxing and stimulating at the same time.  I'm guessing that it will find a permanent place in your CD rotation
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Cottages and Castles CD Review
Kentucky's Lorinda Jones and her friends who call themselves Just By Chance, have released a lovely collection of Irish and Scottish traditional music played on hammered and mountain dulcimer, Celtic harp, whistles, recorders, flute, violin, cello, English horn, piano, oboe, mandolin, and guitar.

Cottages and Castles is filled with marvelous arrangements that seamlessly weave the various instrumental textures into a very cohesive whole. The music is contemplative, peaceful and serene for the most part with frequent injections of sprightly dance rhythms that make this a complete and utter delight to experience. Lorinda's Celtic harp playing is just terrific and along with Brenda Brooks hammered dulcimer, generally states each theme. Close your eyes and you can almost see a leaf floating down a quiet brook, encountering a gentle massage by Rob Smith's languorous violin or cello and then being buffeted by a playful whistle or recorder or Dell Harris' rhythmic guitar accompaniment, making it bob and weave for a moment before breaks free and, undamaged, makes its way back into calm water. That's what I saw anyway. Your mileage may vary but I suspect you'll enjoy letting these folks create your own custom image as you lose yourself in the music.

Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Night Cap CD Review
From Dulcimer Players News, Spring 1998:

Another of the great new releases that came in while I was enjoying Maddie's grace period is from Kentuckian Lorinda Jones.  On Night Cap, Lorinda plays (a deep breath, please) Celtic harp, oboe, mountain dulcimer, English horn, tin whistle, autoharp, bowed psaltery, tenor recorder, flute, and piano.  Ginger Harden helps by adding another half dozen instruments from mandolin to bodhra'n and Dave McKellep adds guitar.  Lorinda's dulcimer playing is great, of course, but it's just part of the story here as her harp and oboe add wonderful textures to the music that never seems cluttered or rushed.   The album is filled with lovely "just one more before we go to bed" melodies and lullabies from Celtic, American, and even classical sources.  Another wonderful resource for you "tune hounds."
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Listening to them during my quiet time every evening before bed and find them very relaxing
Lorinda,
I wanted to send you a brief message to tell you how very much I am enjoying your cd's I purchased at conference. I have been listening to them during my quiet time every evening before bed and find them very relaxing. You are truly an amazing and talented woman - what a blessing it has been to get to know you better.

T. Haynes
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Dulcimer CD Review- I Love it! I Love it! I love it!
Lorinda, I couldn't get home fast enough tonight to listen to the C.D.   What can I say but.....
I LOVE IT!  I LOVE IT!  I LOVE IT!

Really,  it is a beautifully done C.D.   I honestly don't know which song I liked best.  The whole thing has lilt to it and lots of feeling.  That Bass dulcimer and the Baritone come across so richly it gives me goose bumps!!
I really liked the selection of songs.  I thought it was a good mix.  Wayfarin' Stranger/Shady Grove/Cluck Old Hen is wonderful. I will definitely recommend this C.D. to people who want to hear good old-fashioned traditional music. It's one that I would buy for myself (and I'm pretty picky) even if I wasn't included on it.
Again, thank you for letting me be a part of such a "high class" project.  This is a moment I will treasure forever.
Jean
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

I am completely in love with your CD.
I am completely in love with your CD. I've kept it playing while I work on the project, and find it very soothing and yet inspiring, at the same time.   I've got several other friends that I know would very much enjoy your music as well.  In fact, one friend, who engaged me to do this project is very loyal to her Scottish heritage, and I know would love to have one. I give her something Celtic related every year for Christmas, so would love to have one to set aside for her next year's Christmas present.  I'm thinking about another friend who loves Appalachian music, another that's a massage therapist, and a friend who just established a music therapy program and library at Norton-Audubon Hospital in honor of her husband who was a pathologist there before his death from liver cancer. Also, my sister works with special needs kids in Bullit County schools, and I want to share this with her.
I hope my enthusiasm isn't going overboard here, I'm just very taken with the loveliness of what I'm hearing, and just had to share it with you.  I'm very grateful that this project has brought me into contact with you, and I'm so glad it will enable me to let others enjoy your gifts as well.

N. Doctor
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Dulcimer CD Review- Very nice, you'll be sorry if you don't pick this one for your collection!
Have fun, Lorinda--gonna do the "watermelon crawl" too?  Hey everybody, Lorinda has got a sweet new CD--I've been enjoying in it my car this week--crisp sound, creative arrangements that invite the listener deep into the tunes--major AND minor tunes!  Very nice--you'll be sorry if you don't pick this one for your collection!

Steve Eulberg
www.owlmntnmusic.com
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

No Shadow Dulcimer CD Review- This may very well be the best representation of the mountain dulcimer that I have heard.
Wow!!! What a nice compilation of music for the dulcimer.  This may very well be the best representation of the mountain dulcimer that I have heard.  Most presentations are overpowering with the dulcimer, No Shadows, allows the dulcimer to be pre-eminent.  Super!!
Thank you very much for the CD.  I want to pick up some more at the Heartland Festival.  Also would like to talk with you about the way you over-dubbed the tracks and the procedure for recording.  That is fascinating.

MLJ
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under CD Reviews

Dulcimer CD Review- It is supurb.
Hi Lorinda:  just wanted to send a brief note to let you know that I finally got enough stuff unpacked to be able to listen to your new CD the other night and have probably played it half a dozen times since then.  It is superb.  I liked both the old favorites and some "new" to me favorites.  I had never heard Bound for the Promised Land in a minor key before - something new to appreciate. Peace.

Brian
Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under CD Reviews

Accoustic Accord CD- Your new CD is as stunning to listen to as it is to look at--what a gorgeous cover.

Your new CD is as stunning to listen to as it is to look at--what a gorgeous cover. ('Course, I expect you know I'm rather fond of blue!)
The selection of tunes was great--it is, for me, a perfect mix of never-heard and old familiars

I like how it all "hangs" together...and the musicianship...ahhhhhhhhh (awe!).  Beautiful arrangements and performance...it is a recording I will listen to many times (and have done so already!).  (Butterfly, by the way, is exceptional!)

Janita Baker
Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under CD Reviews

CD Review

I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying you wonderful music while I work in my shop.  It has helped me to put great energy into my instruments.  I hope you are doing well.


Don Kawalek
Master Craftsman in wood / Luthier / Teacher
http://www.donkawalek.com
 
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under CD Reviews