Harp Player
Latest News

Soprano and Baritone Mountain Dulcimer Duet Class

Workshop at upcoming Ohio Valley Gathering
March 15, 2014
1 pm
Hilton Hotel
Lexington KY 

Read More


Beginning Dulcimer Class (DAD)

Eight weeks of one hour classes at the Music And Arts Center of Cultural Learning in Elizabethtown KY.
5:00-6:00 pm Tuesday 
Ongoing 

Read More




Follow Me Twitter YouTube Facebook
KY Arts Council
RSS Feed

Book Reviews


July 21 - Sunday

Chattering Magpies - Celtic Duo to Perform at Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea

On Sunday, July 21, the duo, Chattering Magpies, with musicians Lorinda Jones and Greta Gillmeister, will perform Celtic music from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at the Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea. Jones will play the mountain dulcimer and Irish harp while Greta Gillmeister will play Irish flute and Penny whistle.

 

This duo from Kentucky has been performing together for the past 8 years, exploring their Kentucky musical roots back to Scotland and Ireland.  This music is an obvious fit for the whistle, harp, and flute, but the mountain dulcimer also sounds right at home on the reels, hornpipes and polkas they have arranged in the Celtic style. This performance held during the Center’s 10 Year Celebration, is supported in part by the Kentucky Arts Council.

 

Celebrating 10 Years in 2013, the Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea is located at 200 Artisan Way, just off Interstate 75 at Berea, Exit 77. The Center is open daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and the cafe is open from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Admission is free.

Originally Published on Friday, June 21, 2013 under Book Reviews

So much fun!
Hi Lorinda!

Today our dulcimer group played the arrangement for Amazing Grace with
three parts that is on your web site. It was so much fun! We worked on
the 3 parts separately, then put two parts together, then put all three parts
together. Next our guitarists accompanied us by playing 3 straight strums
on each measure with each down beat accented. Finally, we sang our part
as we played.

Whenever we play a program of hymns, we end with Amazing Grace. Next
time we have another program of hymns, we are planning to play the New Britain
Amazing Grace in parts and follow it with our traditional tune with the audience
singing. We can include a little history on shape note singing.

Thanks so much for sharing the tab.

Dulcimer Troupers, LaGrange Georgia

Originally Published on Friday, March 1, 2013 under Book Reviews

Step by Step
I purchased your instructional book, "Traditional Playing of the Mountain Dulcimer," with the accompanying CD and DVD. Once again, you make the process simple and fun. It's very helpful that you take nothing for granted. The book explains the basics, and the DVD shows the beginner what to do, speeding the learning process by eye and by ear. The multi-part approach to learning each song helps the beginner to "ease into" the tunes, first using a noter to make the melody, then working out the rhythmic strumming, and finally progressing to fingered chords. It's a welcome fundamental approach, and one that shows the many ways of playing a single tune.


Originally Published on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 under Book Reviews

very helpful
Review of Traditional Playing of the Mountain Dulcimer, Book/DVD/CD

Lorinda,
I just wanted to let you know that I have found the DVD and instructional books to be very helpful in my efforts to learn to play the mountain dulcimer.  I am glad I stumbled upon your site.
Thank you,
Michael Hudson
Originally Published on Monday, June 27, 2011 under Book Reviews

KMWeek

Originally Published on Saturday, May 21, 2011 under Book Reviews

Lullibies and Other Lilting Melody Book Review
"Hi Lorinda!  The Lullabies book & cd arrived today, thank you!  I've missed it so, and I"m so glad I could get it again!  Also glad it's gonna be snowy here this weekend and I'll have a great excuse to stay IN and play!!!  (not that I really need one!)  haha!

Jennifer Mylod
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under Book Reviews

After several album releases featuring her Celtic harp, tin whistle, piano, oboe, autoharp and psaltery skills in addition to mountain dulcimer, Lorinda Jones has at long last released an entire album featuring the mountain dulcimer as the lead instrument on each track.  It was well worth the wait. No Shadows was recorded in its entirety in one long session in early February and I'm guessing the title means that a local groundhog did not see his shadow.  He was probably enraptured by the sweet sounds anyway and, had he seen his shadow, it would not have been a shadow of and serious doubt about the music.   Lorinda's playing is typically terrific, tremendously tasteful, totally titillating, and, as always, suits my ear to ... wait for it ... a 'T'.    The songs are mostly traditional American folk favorites with some beautiful old hymns and a couple of Celtic tunes thrown in for good measure but Lorinda's treatment of these venerable old tunes is anything but business as usual.  Her arrangements are different in that special way that sets good players apart from the ordinary.

She has also surrounded herself with some very capable people like Rob Smith on mandolin and cello, Dell Harris on guitar, Gary Gallier on dulcimer and udu (hedu a fine job as engineer too!),Brenda Brooks on hammered dulcimer and flute, Rob Harris on fiddle, andJean Ham on harmony dulcimer.  Lorinda also plays whistle and recorder but her versatility extends well beyond just playing a room full of instruments.  She flatpicks hot fiddle tunes with the best of them; she fingerpicks slow ballads with the gentle touch of the wonderful harpist she is; and she unleashes her dujo (a cross between a dulcimer and a banjo) on a lively Irish jig.  Not least, her inventive arrangements give her supporting cast plenty of room to shine too.   This is a classic dulcimer album that should find its way into your collection.
Originally Published on Monday, February 21, 2011 under Book Reviews

Mountain Dulcimer Book/CD. It's a Great Resource

"By the way, we had some extra A&H textbook money left over.  I have ordered 15 dulcimers for us!  I am really excited to use them next year and to use your Mountain Dulcimer book/CD.  It's a great resource!" (in reference to Lorinda's new book Mountain Dulcimer: A Design For Success with an accompanying CD )


Kelly Cruze
Music Teacher
Morningside Elementary
Kelly.Cruze@etown.kyschools.us

Originally Published on Thursday, February 17, 2011 under Book Reviews

With great thanks again to Lorinda
Hi everybody,

I've been on the road a while, but now am back at regular e-mail and eager to chime in with my highest praise for Lorinda and her teaching of us.  It was super in all respects.  And, as Marva has already said, the binder and CD are just right.  What a very well-thought-out and perfectly rendered take-away treat.  I listened to the CD as I was making the long drive from Swannanoa to Charlottesville, VA, and found myself deeply touched by the care (and time!) that Lorinda had obviously put into it.

Also on my drive to Charlottesville, I listened to Lorinda's A la Mode CD, which accompanies her teaching/tune book of the same title.  To my ear there is something deeply haunting and magical about the minor modes, which Lorinda demonstrates on the CD.  I wonder if we could experiment with modes next year - ideally without setting ourselves up for broken strings.

With great thanks again to Lorinda, thanks to Jane for putting us in touch with each other, and warm greetings to you all,

Elisabeth
from Los Angeles, CA
Originally Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 under Book Reviews